top of page

Graduates of Covid-19


The same as many other third year students in Covid-19. I have faced many challenges trying to get through the last push to complete the degree we have worked so hard for 3 years to achieve. But we must not forget, not only have we faced the challenges of a global pandemic we have also faced the struggles of a union strike.


Yes that’s right February this year just as we were getting deep into the second semester the union announced a strike lasting almost 5 weeks. And whilst I completely support the fact that these lecturers are fighting for their rights as influencers on the new generations of public workforce and whilst I can’t speak for everyone else but wow did that impact me massively. I mean it’s the final year the most important one right? The one where everyone said’s they will work harder and look towards that day on the graduation stage receiving that certificate of success. But we all kept going and didn’t let that affect us, we kept submitting work and reaching deadlines even with the lack of available support due to the lecturers fighting for their rights.

So I sit here today typing this thinking and reminiscing on my 3 years in University. Analysing the fact that not only has the strikes affected our last semester but then in March we were hit with a global pandemic and within days plastered all over the news, schools shut, libraries closed and it was an instant impact of changing the way we learn to use modern technology.

I’m not one to sit on a camera and have a meeting I learn through face to face meetings and being in a classroom environment where I know at the end of the lesson I can ask a question or I can sit there and ask my friends for support. Learning this way was challenged when having to rely on wifi signal and an invitation to a meeting through Zoom.


But not only has Covid taking away the possibility of a graduation this year replacing it with a virtual one and a postponed ceremony to the following year it leaves third year students missing out on the smallest of things. Missing out on that last face to face thank you to those lecturers that went the extra mile. For many it has taken away the possibility of travelling the world to celebrate so many years of working our butts off. The opportunity to celebrate and raise a glass with friends made that will be parting ways to start a new section of their lives. The list goes on.


So whilst I sit here listing the things that we have missed out on…I sit here proud about the fact that I will look back on my Uni experience and success and can say I did that with the impact of a 5 week strike and a global pandemic. Getting through what some say are the hardest last few weeks reaching those deadlines. But I sit here healthy, positive, and thinking to the future. Looking at the fact that by staying safe and healthy I will get the opportunity to raise a glass with my Uni girls and to thank those that have impacted my Uni experience. Here’s to positive thoughts and not taking any moments for granted. P.s That photo of me in a cap and gown you see, that’s me grabbing those last few moments, improvising and posing for that iconic picture in an official gown or not…I got that moment.

bottom of page